Physicians

To add cannabis to treatment plans, you first need to join the state's medical marijuana program.

 

Physicians

To add cannabis to treatment plans, you first need to join the state's medical marijuana program.

Requirements

Requirements

 

The Office of Cannabis Management (OCM) provides oversight for New York State’s Medical Cannabis Program.

To issue certifications for patients to receive medical cannabis health care providers must:

 

  • Be licensed, registered, or certified by New York State to prescribe controlled substances to humans within the State, such as physicians, nurse practitioners, physicians assistants, dentists, podiatrists, and midwives.
  • Complete at least a two-hour course and register with the Office before they can begin certifying patients for medical cannabis.

The new Medical Cannabis Data Management System (MCDMS) was designed to streamline the patient certification process for health care providers.

 

Step 1: Education

A minimum of a two-hour approved course must be completed by practitioners who wish to certify patients for medical cannabis.

 

Courses include the following content: the pharmacology of cannabis; contraindications; side effects; adverse reactions; overdose prevention; drug interactions; dosing; routes of administration; risks and benefits; warnings and precautions; and abuse and dependence.

 

The Office has approved the providers HERE to offer the required course(s). All course providers offer 12 months of access to their content. 

Complete Course
Register

Step 2: Medical Cannabis Data Management System

Accessing the Medical Cannabis Data Management System (MCDMS)

 

First Time Users: 

  • Log into the Health Commerce System (HCS).
  • From My Content (top banner menu) →  All Applications →  “M” →  Medical Cannabis Data Management System.
  • Click on the green plus sign. This will add the MCDMS application to your personal “My Applications” menu.
  • Click on the Medical Cannabis Data Management System link.
  • Follow the prompts to access the system.

Returning Users:

  • Log into the HCS.
  • From My Applications (left hand side menu), select Medical Cannabis DMS.

***If you recently renewed your DEA registration, please allow 3 business days for the system to update.***


 

 

Step 3: Certifying Patients

 

To certify qualifying patients for medical cannabis, practitioners must use the Medical Cannabis Data Management System, located within the Health Commerce System (HCS).

 

Remember: It’s the Law: Practitioners must consult the PMP Registry to check a patient’s controlled substance history before issuing or editing a patient’s certification.

PMP Registry

Important Information for Patients under 18 or Incapable of Consent

If your patient is a under the age of 18 or incapable of providing consent for medical treatment, at the time of patient registration, this patient will require the following:

 

  • someone over 18 years old, with a valid DMV ID (driver license or non-driver ID card), to register the patient on the patient’s behalf.
  • at least one designated caregiver who possesses a valid DMV ID (it can be the same person who’s registering on behalf of the patient).

You can view the complete Practitioner Guide to Patient Certifications or use the Certification Quick Reference Menu below to jump to specific instructions.

Submit patient certifications
Medical Marijuana Data Management System

Step 4: Medical Marijuana Data Management System

 

As an optional step, you can agree to having your information published in the Medical Marijuana Data Management System (MMDMS).

The MMDMS allows unregistered physicians to search for registered physicians to refer their patients to (so they can pursue treatment in New York State’s Medical Marijuana Program).